Chattarpur Temple, Anand Foundation

It is located at Chhatarpur on the Mehrauli-Gurgaon road and is 4 km from Qutub minar. Officially known as “Shree Adya Katayayani Shakti Peetham”. The temple was established in 1974 by Baba Sant Nagpal Ji.

The common elements of the Chhatarpur temple in their original Sanskrit words are as follows:

The sanctuary as whole is known as the Vimana that consists of two parts. The upper part of the Vimana is called as the ‘Shikhara’ and the lower portion inside the ‘Vimana’ is called as the Garbhagriha (cella or inner chamber)(Sullivan,2001).

1.’Shikhara’ meaning the tower or the spire. It is the pyramidal or tapering portion of the temple which represents the mythological ‘Meru’ or the highest mountain peak. The shape and the size of the tower vary from region to region.

2. ‘Garbhagriha’ meaning the womb chamber. It is nucleus and the innermost chamber of the temple where the image or idol of the deity is placed. The chamber is mostly square in plan and is entered by a doorway on its eastern side. The visitors are not allowed inside the garbhagriha in this temples, only the priests perform the rituals.

3. ‘Pradakshina patha’ meaning the passageway for circum-ambulation. It consists of enclosed corridor carried around the outside of garbhagriha. The devotees walk around the deity in clockwise direction as a worship ritual and symbol of respect to the temple god or goddess.

4. ‘Mandapa’, is the pillared hall in front of the garbhagriha, for the assembly of the devotees. It is used by the devotees to sit, pray, chant, meditate and watch the priests performing the rituals.

5. ‘Ardhamandapa’ meaning the front porch or the main entrance of the temple leading to the mandapa.

6. ‘Antarala’ meaning the vestibule or the intermediate chamber. It unites the main sanctuary and the pillared hall of the temple.